First Entries

08Sep08

This is the second time I’ve had to write a first entry to a blog in the past several months.  And I don’t like having to do it.

This past summer, I worked in the finance department of EMC, and as many major corporations, they’re going through the growing pains of increasing their internal network and adding Web 2.0 technologies.  This summer was one of the first major challenges for the network, as the very first intern crowd was introduced to the network.  Full time employees and interns sometimes had differing ideas about what the network was meant to be used for, and there were a few clashes.

There’s only so much the keepers of the castle can do at that point.  You can encourage employees to use a tool, but you can’t make them.  You can only hope that you can convince enough employees that a few lead by example, and the rest are pulled in.  I “got it”, and since I was an intern, I could come out and say a lot of things other might not have.  I wrote a blog about my perspective as an intern, my perspective as a non-financey person in the finance world, and my perspective as a member of a group of technophiles that just might save the world, if we can ever get around to it.

That will not be what this blog is about.  Well, not mostly.

I just moved to a new city.  I grew up in New England, went to college in New England, and other than one summer in North Carolina, have spent just about every other minute of my life in New England (I exaggerate, but only slightly. )  I’m now living in the DC Metro Area.  Some of my content will be about my new home.

And beyond that, I’m passionate about food.  Cooking it, eating it, talking about it.  So are most of the important people in my life.  Much of the content will be about food.

But it’s unlikely that those will be the only topics.  This is not a location blog, or a food blog.  This is my blog.  Your mileage may vary.

One Response to “First Entries”

  1. Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.


Leave a Reply

